Sunday, 14 July 2013

Letterbox Love

photo_thumb
Britain at it's best, bringing you it's own version of IMM! All the books that came through my letterbox thanks to publishers and Royal Mail! This meme is hosted by the amazing Lynsey from Narratively Speaking.
Books for Review
P1000864
Little White Lies by Katie Dale published by Simon & Schuster in August. This is Katie’s second YA novel and it is described ‘as a gripping, roller-coaster of a story about family secrets, relationships and deceit.’ The main character, Lucy is drawn to the mysterious Christian, but the more time she spends with him, the more she realises he has a secret past he doesn’t want to share.
Have a Little Faith by Candy Harper published by Simon and Schuster is also published in August. This book sounds hilarious and will appeal to fans of Louise Rennison. Faith has just started Year 10 and she is already causing havoc.
Terra by Mitch Benn is published by Gollancz in July. Neil Gaiman mentioned in a review that the author’s voice reminded him of Roald Dahl, Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett, but it also had a uniqueness about it.
Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. The eagerly awaited sequel to Throne of Glass. I loved that book last year as well as the extra novellas. This high fantasy series is a must for everyone.
Oliver and the Seawigs by Philip Reeve and Sarah McIntyre  is published by Oxford University Press and is about a trepid, young explorer who is about to have his biggest adventure yet. Two brilliant forces in the children’s book world come together to create this fantasy children’s book.
 
P1000865
Cruel Summer by James Dawson is published in August by Orion Children’s Books. This is the eagerly awaited second novel from this author and is a little different from Hollow Pike. A group of friends enjoy a long, hot summer in a Mediterrean villa – until someone starts killing them one by one…
Half Lives by Sara Grant was published by Orion Children’s Books. Just for the record, I love Sara Grant! I think she is an amazing author and a brilliant teacher. If you get chance to go one of her writing courses I would highly recommend it. Half Lives is a dystopian novel which follows two different people living in two different times.
The Killing Woods by Lucy Christopher is published by Chicken House in October. Lucy Christopher is one of those authors who has passed me by but I feel I should have read. This is a psychological thriller.
Arclight by Josin L. McQuein is published by Electric Monkey in August. This book is set in apocalyptic world consumed by terrifying monster. Perfect for fans of Suzanne Collins, and Stephen King. This is the first book in a dualogy and the film rights have already been sold to Universal.
Tudors by Peter Ackroyd was published by Macmillan in July. I’m not sure how I ended with this but I’m suitably intrigued by it. This is the story of the Turdors. From Henry VIII right through to Elizabeth I. This is the paperback version.
Bought
51mY2zDfNbL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-71,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_
The Language of Spells by Sarah Painter is one of the books being published by MIRA’s new digital imprint, Carina. This has a magical realism quality to it.
516DIek y-L._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-click,TopRight,35,-76_AA278_PIkin4,BottomRight,-66,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_
Forever Too Far by Abbi Glines. The third book in the Fallen Too Far series. I’ve just read the first one and I can wait to read the next two.
That’s my haul. I’m looking forward to seeing what everyone else got this week.

3 comments:

  1. A great haul! I neeed Crown of Midnight! :D I really loved Katie Dale's first book, and this one looks really good.

    Enjoy your books,
    Sam :D
    http://bookcrazedreviews.blogspot.com/2013/07/book-haul-51.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm beyond excited for The Killing Woods and Have a Little Faith just looks like so much fun.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love the cover of Have a Little Faith.

    ReplyDelete

Hiya, thanks for stopping by, it is always nice to hear what you have to say, so do leave a comment if you have time.