Sunday, 27 October 2013

Books I’m Excited About (3)

This post is my version of Letterbox Love, where instead of showing you everything that comes into the house to be reviewed, I pick out the books I am most excited about reading.
cover37724-medium
The Chronicles of Narmo by Caitlin Moran is about to be republished by Corgi. Many of you are probably more familiar with Caitlin’s recent book, How To Be A Woman, which I will hold my hands up and admit that I’m probably one of the last remaining females who still hasn’t read it.
The Chronicles of Narmo was written by Caitlin when she was just fifteen, and reflects aspects of her own childhood.  Morag Narmo isn’t really into school, but even she isn’t prepared for the dramatic changes home schooling brings when her parents pull her and siblings out of school. This is supposed to be a really funny book and I was lucky enough to pick up the ebook version from NetGalley. If I love this, I suspect I will be finally rushing out to buy How To Be A Woman to read too!
18710190
Allegiant by Veronica Roth
The final part to the Divergent trilogy.
Who isn’t excited about this book this week???
I mean, seriously, haven’t we all been desperate for nearly a year to discover what happens next, after it appears that everything Tris has believed in is about to fall apart. Her whole world is a lie and now she needs to find out what is beyond the fence! I know quite a few people have already started tucking into this, but I won’t be far behind them!
18039069
Witch Finder by Ruth Warburton.
The hotly anticipated new series from the author of the Winter trilogy, where the last book actually blew my mind. This series is still about witches, but we are stepping right back in time to London 1880! It doesn’t come out to January, but I’m absolutely certain I won’t be able to wait that long to read it!
18621227
The Dark Inside by Rupert Wallis is another book not published until January, but I’ve had it on good authority that I need to read it now! This book is a rather dark and gripping story that focuses on hope and loss, from a debut author. It is believed to appeal to fans of Patrick Ness and David Almond, so I am rather intrigued. Thirteen year old James must help to find a cure for the dark curse that is inflicted upon the homeless man, he finds in an abandoned house. I’m thinking Rupert Wallis might be a name to watch out for.
isbn9781444912654-detail
The Box of Red Brocade by Catherine Fisher
I loved the first book in this series and I’ve desperately waited all year to find out what happened next. In this, the second book of the Chronoptika, Jake finds himself lost in time, back in the 1940’s, London. We follow him as he tries to make his way back to his own time and destroy the Obsidian Mirror.
So these are the books that are getting me all excited this week. What about you? Which books are you desperate to read?

7 comments:

  1. AHHH ALLEGIANT! I'll have to go hunting for a copy ASAP before I stumble over some spoilers. I've also got Witch Finder, it sounds super cool!

    Enjoy all your books,
    Sam @ Falling Books
    http://bookcrazedreviews.blogspot.com/2013/10/book-haul-64.html

    ReplyDelete
  2. I think everyone's excited about Allegiant!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read The Chronicles of Narmo last night and loved it. It definitely made me want to go and read How to Be a Woman - you're not the only one who hasn't read it yet! Hope you enjoy :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oooh you beat me to it! LOL. I can't bloody wait to read it and glad to find out I'm not the only one!

      Delete
  4. Ooh! Great picks - I really want to read The Chronicles of Narmo and of course I'm excited about Allegiant! :D

    ReplyDelete

Hiya, thanks for stopping by, it is always nice to hear what you have to say, so do leave a comment if you have time.