Sunday, 24 March 2013

Letterbox Love (27)

photo
Britain at it's best, bringing you it's own version of IMM! All the books that came through my letterbox thanks to publishers and Royal Mail! This meme is hosted by the amazing Lynsey from Narratively Speaking.
On Friday, I reached a moment of panic and I asked what your views were on Letterbox Love. The response was amazing! Thank you everyone who replied and commented. I really appreciated it. From the views left, it really came across that this was more of a positive meme and for the time being I will continue to join in with it.  So thank you for helping me make my decision.
For Review
IMG-20130322-01409
Silent Saturday by Helen Grant is the first book in the the Forbidden Spaces trilogy. Set in Flanders in Belgium. It will be published by Bodley Head, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books and will be published in April. I do have two copies of this now, so I promise to do a giveaway around the time of review. Thank you Bodley Head.
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare which was published this week by Walker Books. This is the highly anticipated third book in the Infernal Devices series, which is the steampunk companion series to the Mortal Instruments one. Thank you Walker Books.
The Goblin’s Gift by Conrad Mason is the the second book in the Tales of Fayt trilogy and will be published in April by David Fickling Books. If you like Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels then you will enjoy this one.  Thank you David Fickling Books.
Country Loving by Cathy Woodman is published by Century in April. Set in the same village of Talyton St George as her other books, described as Katie Fforde meets James Herriot. Thank you Century.
Don’t Look Back by S.B. Hayes is published in April by Quercus. Described as a dark psychological thriller, from the same author that brought you Poison Heart. Perfect for fans of Amy Plum, Sarah Alderson and Veronica Roth. Thank you Quercus.
The Last Grave by Debbie Viguie is the second book in the Witch Hunt trilogy and is published by Arrow. Ideal for fans of Buffy and Charmed.  Thank you Arrow.
The Secret of Ella and Micha by NY Times bestselling author Jessica Sorenson finally debuts in the UK with her New Adult romance. Published by Sphere in April, a powerful portrayal of first love. Thank you Sphere.
Follow Me Down by Tanya Byrne. I loved Tanya’s debut Heart-Shaped Bruise so I am very excited by her follow-up. Published by Headline in May, this is a dark and compulsive tale of obsession and portrayal in a girl’s boarding school. Thank you Headline.
IMG-20130322-01410
The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd is published by Harper Voyager in April and is set in Victorian London and is a reimagining of the Victorian classic, The Island of Dr Moreau. Thank you Harper Voyager.
Going Vintage by Lindsey Leavitt is published in April by Scholastic Books. The book asks the question – could you survive the 21st Century without technology? Thank you Scholastic.
The Night She Disappeared by April Henry is published by Walker Books, a contemporary thriller uncovering the truth when the wrong girl goes missing. Thank you Walker Books. IMG-20130322-01412
This week, I was lucky enough to be invited to the Mira Ink Blogger Party. They have some amazing books coming out this year, which I won’t go into detail here, as I have a whole post devoted to them later this week. The bag is amazing though and was jam packed with fabulous books.
Bought
IMG-20130322-01411
Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys. Published by Penguin. This is set in !950’s New Orleans.
Raw Blue by Kirsty Eager is an Australian YA book that was published last year by Catnip. I’ve been wanting to read this one for ages.
1733274617375832
Goddess Legacy by M.W. Muse was a freebie on Amazon and is New Adult.
Losing It By Cora Carmack is also New Adult too.
Net Galley
15766911 (2)17158077
Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire – I was so worried I would miss out on this one and I’ve started reading it straight away. This is the companion novel to Beautiful Disaster following the story of Travis and is published by Atria Books in April. Thank you Atria.
Fally Guy Liz Reinhardt is a steamy NA novel, the first in the Young Blood series which will be published in June with Corgi Books. Thank you Corgi Books.
Library
IMG-20130323-01416
Dead Man’s Cove by Lauren St John  This is to curb my need for children’s mysteries. This is the first in the Laura Marlin series aimed at 9 to 12 year olds.
The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud After meeting Jonathan last weekend, I was intrigued to one of his other books. This is the first in his Bartimaeus series.
Poison Princess by Kresley Coles I’ve been after this book for ages. This is Kresley Coles first YA novel.
A Sea of Stars by Kate Maryon This is a surfing novel for the 9 to 12 market, I think.
The Mystery of Wickworth Manor by Elen Caldecott another mystery novel for the 9 to 12 market.
I think I might have gone book mad this week. Eeep!

5 comments:

  1. I bought Out of the Easy a few weeks ago too, and can't wait to read it!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Such fantastic books Vivs, Very Jealous you got to go to the MiraInk event! I read The Goblin's gift yesterday and it was so amazing… I really must read the Discworld books if they are similar!
    I hope you enjoy these!

    ReplyDelete

Hiya, thanks for stopping by, it is always nice to hear what you have to say, so do leave a comment if you have time.