Sunday, 19 May 2013

Letterbox Love (33)

photo_thumb
Britain at it's best, bringing you it's own version of IMM! All the books that came through my letterbox thanks to publishers and Royal Mail! This meme is hosted by the amazing Lynsey from Narratively Speaking.
For Review
P1000799
Doll Bones by Holly Black was published by Random House earlier this month. I’m a huge Holly Black fan, as she was one of the first authors I read when I started reading YA. This is her most recent children’s book since finishing The Spiderwick Chronicles.  A chilling tale of ghosts, growing up and the power of stories. Thank you Random House.
Poison By Sarah  Pinborough was also recently published by Gollancz. I have to save the cover of this book is utterly gorgeous. I’ve been excited by this book ever since I set eyes on it.  Described a a wicked, delicious, sexy Snow White fairy-tale. I can’t wait to read it. Thank you Gollancz.
Race The Wind by Lauren St John is the second book in the One Dollar Horse trilogy. I read the first book a couple of weeks ago and Orion were kind enough to send me the next book. I loved the first book, which reminded me of great books such as Flambards and Black Beauty. Thank you Orion Children’s Books.
P1000800
The River of No Return by Bee Ridgway is a lovely chunkster of a book. Ideal for fans of The Night Circus and The Snow Child, both of which I loved. This is a debut novel published by Michael Joseph on the 23rd of May. A historical adventure story about forbidden love. Sounds intriguing. Thank you Michael Joseph.
Bought
P1000797
I went into The Works this week. Bad move on my part!
I bought the four books above.
The Painter’s Apprentice by Charlotte Betts. I actually had this one out from the library but never got round to reading it, so I was really pleased to pick it up as I love the author’s first book, The Apothecary’s Daughter.
Witch Light by Susan Fletcher, author of Eve Green. I was caught by the title. Only the mention of the word ‘Witch’ and I’m interested. This is set in 1692, in the mountains of Scotland. It’s about a wild young girl who has been imprisoned as a witch.
Rosie Hopkins’ Sweet Shop of Dreams by Jenny Colgan. I love these foodie novels by Jenny Colgan. I read her cupcake novels last year and I couldn’t resist a sweet shop one!
Unravelling by Elizabeth Norris is published by Harper Collins. It is a high stake thriller with a mind bending sci-fi twist. I was quite intrigued by this book when it came out, so looking forward to reading it.
IP1000798
Revision and Self-Editing for Publication by James Scott Bell. This book was recommended to me on Facebook by the lovely ladies of SCBWI as a good book to help me edit with. I shall let you know how I get on.
Thanks for stopping by the blog this week. Happy reading.

3 comments:

  1. Wow! The River of No Return catches my eye. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm so looking forward to Doll Bones - I love me some Holly Black!

    ReplyDelete

Hiya, thanks for stopping by, it is always nice to hear what you have to say, so do leave a comment if you have time.