Saturday, 7 March 2015

What inspired me to write by DB Nielsen

Keepers of Genesis, by DB Nielsen is a gripping new epic adventure series perfect for fans of Twilight and A Discovery of Witches. A magical blend of romance, fantasy and fascinating ancient history, this captivating four-part series is already enthralling a legion of young adult readers and crossover fiction fans alike. As the second part, SCROLL publishes this week I am  joined by the author Denise who shares her inspiration for the series.
 
Inspiration to write comes from many different sources – from dreams, history, inspirational authors, conversations with friends and fellow authors, favourite books and films… The simplest thing can lead to a great story or idea, a twist in the plot or development of a character. It’s difficult pinpointing just one source of inspiration, so I’ll take you through some of the things that inspired me to write the series…
One of the reasons I wrote SEED was the desire to see stronger young female characters in (paranormal) romance novels. Many female teen protagonists are ‘blank slates’ – the kind of characters that allow readers to imprint their own personalities upon them but without any real strengths of their own (like Bella Swan or Anastacia Steele).  And I didn’t just want a ‘sidekick’ like Hermione Granger as a foil for the hero (though Hermione is more my type of female protagonist) but a young woman who was an equal to the male protagonist; smart, assertive, resilient, capable, honourable, and so forth. 
I figured that such a female would be able to attract the hero – especially if he was immortal, he’d be quite particular about the kind of woman he would share his life and love with – and if he could fall in love with her then so could readers. I wanted strong role models for young adult readers – someone that they could relate to, empathise with and want to be like.
I also happen to love history – especially ancient history – so I was inspired to write a novel which included historical facts in the same vein as the Steve Berry or Dan Brown novels (but, of course, with romance). I have tried to ensure the history is as accurate as possible as I often find that authors misrepresent ‘facts’ or choose to focus on an obscure theory to build drama and create controversy (such as in The Da Vinci Code). 
I figured that readers might be interested in learning something new (about the old) and can even travel with Sage and Saffron to the various places mentioned in the novels; to visit the museums and libraries and cathedrals … for instance, the artefacts of ancient Mesopotamia can be viewed at the British Museum (be careful not to blink – the clay tablets are not much bigger than a smartphone) and the Louvre (which features in both SEED and SCROLL); you can book a tour to visit the Vatican Secret Archives (the library is now open to tourists) and even a ‘ghost tour’ of the catacombs of Rome and Paris; and pop over to London or Paris for a cup of tea at its famous tea salons. Why not take a copy of the novel with you when having afternoon tea at Mariage Frères in Paris or Claridge’s in London? You might see me there…
I was also inspired to write the novel when, at university, I had to read for an assessment Dante’s Divine Comedy. It made me wonder about the war in the heavens between Lucifer and God and the First Fall … which made me wonder about the history of Angels … and, in turn, the Nephilim. So instead of writing about vampires (which I still love to read about ever since reading Dracula in my teenage years) or wizards and elves (ditto for The Lord of the Rings), I decided to write a series on the Nephilim. And as for the history of angels … there are many detailed books on Angelology for those who might be interested in learning more.
And, lastly, I simply love the classics – everything from Austen to Stoker. I particularly love Shakespeare’s plays, classical mythology (from the Greek myths to King Arthur and Merlin) and the modern classics of such authors as Harper Lee and James Joyce. I even love reading poetry. And that’s why there’s so many literary allusions in my novels…
SCROLL: KEEPERS OF GENESIS II by DB Nielsen is published 12th March.
 To find out more about  DB Neilsen:
Other stops on the blog tour.
 

1 comment:

  1. Thanks for hosting me on your fabulous blog! Love it xx

    ReplyDelete

Hiya, thanks for stopping by, it is always nice to hear what you have to say, so do leave a comment if you have time.