Tuesday, 18 June 2019

The Summer of No Regrets by Kate Mallinder


I absolutely adored this book! Such a quick and easy read, that you find yourself lost in the story and dreaming of sunshine and endless summers. I loved the idea of living without regrets. The girls challenge themselves to follow Hetal's nan's advice, after she discovers she may not see her oldest friend ever again. How many of us, put off the things we really want to do? Saving it for a rainy day, or when we have more time or money. This book stops you in your tracks and makes you realise there might not be a tomorrow to do the things we want to do. Do the things you want to do and do the things you are nervous of doing!

Kate Mallinder has written a book that deals with quite a difficult time in many teenagers lives and made it full of possibilities. Most sixteen year olds are a bit lost at finishing school, not sure of what they will do next. The four amazing characters in this book, deal with all their issues and make it a summer to remember. 

The story is told in third person from four very different viewpoints and it works so well, as each character has their own mountain to climb. I would say this is one of the best examples of multiple narratives I've read recently, especially as the four girls are so closely intertwined in each other's lives.  The chapters are short yet brimming with plot and I found myself whizzing through each chapter, desperate to find out what happened next. 

I loved all four characters. I honestly couldn't pick a favourite. They were each so unique and distinct from each other. What I really loved about this story, is the overflowing feeling of warmth and  true friendship. There was no bitchiness or back stabbing, they were all there to support each other in their individual battles. 

The ending was perfect! I came away wanting to know more about these girls. I want to see how their lives develop - how they deal with college and even their university years.  It made me nostalgic for my own teenage past, when summers were long and full of fun. 

This book is an ideal gift for the teenager in your life, who is a little lost at leaving school. Perfect for fans of Jenny McLachlan's Ladybird series. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hiya, thanks for stopping by, it is always nice to hear what you have to say, so do leave a comment if you have time.